Uncategorized

2020 Book Goals!

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas! Mine was great – spent time with my side of the family where we cooked, played games and ate far too much! Also got some book favorites to add to my shelf: The Selection series by Kiera Cass, The Six of Crows Duology AND a beautiful copy of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte!

Looking forward to the new year, there are so many books I want to read! I’m trying to expand my horizons and read lots of different kinds of books, especially Adult Fantasy, which I haven’t read much of, but YA is my favorite so I will most likely read them the most!

I’m not sure if I will get to all of these, but I hope to read as many as I can! I read almost 50 books this year; it will be a full 50 if I manage to finish Little Women before New Years. I’m hoping to read at least 40 books next year!

Adult Books:

  • A Gathering of Shadows and A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab: I read the first one of this series this past year and enjoyed it, but it was resolved pretty well so I didn’t feel like I needed to read the second one right away. I’d like to return to this and see what happens to Kell and Lila! Also, I WANT TO SEE BLACK LONDON SO BAD!
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: I don’t really know what this book is about, but it so many people have read it on Goodreads that I feel I HAVE to read it. Plus, I like going into books blind so that I can be more honest in what I really think of it. Trust me, I am wary of the fact that this book is about a circus, maybe, cause clowns are NOT my friend.
  • Rocannon’s World by Ursula K. Le Guin: Someone recommended this in the 88 Cups of Tea Facebook group and it seems like Ursula is an Adult Fantasy Legend, so she seemed like a great place to start.
  • NOS4A2 by Joe Hill: I first heard of this book because of the TV series that was advertised all over Sunset in Hollywood, but I added to my read list after hearing that it is a good series. Honestly, I am not as excited about this one so we will see if I get to it after all this year!
  • Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey: This also came from the 88 Cups of Tea Facebook group, and the cover looks CRAZY COOL, so I’m sure I will read this book this year!
  • Can You Keep A Secret? by Sophie Kinsella: I saw the trailer for this movie and thought the conceit was adorable, then I found the book in a thrift store for only a dollar! Seems like the perfect, fun book for a trip! And since the main thrust of the drama takes place on an airplane, I think I will save it for when I fly to go see my sister in Nashville (most likely unless something crazy happens!) sometime next year!

classics:

  • Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskill: I found this book in The Last Bookstore in downtown LA and it looked like a great read about a daughter and her stepmother! I was surprised and a little bit disappointed that I hadn’t heard of Elizabeth Gaskill before, and hope that I enjoy this book because she has a few others that seem interesting as well.
  • 1984 by George Orwell: I love me a good Dystopian novel, so it seems overdue that I read this book. I read Brave New World in high school and it really spearheaded my obsession with the genre. I have high hopes for this read!
  • Mansfield Park by Jane Austen: I have been reading a Jane Austen novel a year for the past two years (Sense and Sensibility in 2018 and Persuasion in 2019), so I figure I should continue the tradition! I am putting off Emma for another year, because I have tried to read that book TWICE before and have been unable to finish it.
  • Something by John Steinbeck! I haven’t decided what yet, but he is probably my favorite male author so I plan to continue my journey through his collected works.

YA BOOKS!

  • The Betrothed by Kiera Cass: I am SO EXCITED for this book! The Selection series made me cry. Kiera Cass said in her acknowledgements that she felt like God gave her writing and TBH I feel the same. It brought me so much joy to know someone felt the same way I did. We (her collected fans) have been waiting so long for another book and it’s finally here!
  • Tower of Dawn and Kingdom of Ash by Sarah J. Maas: I love the Throne of Glass series but was pissed at the end of Empire of Storms so I had to take a break from them. However, enough time has passed and now I feel ready to take them on again! I can’t wait to see how it all wraps up.
  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff: Jay Kristoff was on a panel I went to at Y’All West and he seemed like a great author! His level of research that goes into his SciFi books seemed epic. I like fantasy more though, so this trilogy seemed like a great place to start with him.
  • A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer: A Curse So Dark and Lonely was such an original and imaginative retelling of Beauty and the Beast! I loved Harper so much and can’t wait to read more about her, especially seeing what Brigid does with Grey, and I’m really looking forward to this release!
  • Children of Virtue and Vengeance by Tomi Adeyemi: Children of Blood and Bone was so good, I cannot WAIT to read this! I want to talk more about this but I’m afraid I can’t without spoilers so just go read the first one!
  • The Cruel Prince series by Holly Black: My book friend Shiloh said she loved these books, so they have been on my radar for a while. Now that all three are out I plan to put aside everything and read the whole triology in a week once my job is done!
  • Ever the Brave by Erin Summerhill: I read Ever the Hunted last year, and although it wasn’t an amazing read, I did enjoy it and would like to know what happens!
  • Nocturna by Maya Motayne: I keep putting this book off! I think have been stunted by the 3.5 star it has on Goodreads, but I have been wanting to read this book since it’s release last May and am making a point to get to it next year!
  • Carry On by Rainbow Rowell: I know I DNF’ed Fangirl earlier this year, but people say you don’t have to read that to enjoy Carry On. I like Fantasy more than Contemporary, and I think this is gonna be a great book. Plus, I got it for 5 bucks at Barnes and Nobles last year so I have to read it!
  • We Hunt the Flame by Hafsah Faizal: It’s about a hunter and a prince, I’m in love already and plan to read when the second book comes out so I don’t have to wait for it!
  • Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall: I found this in Barnes and Nobles last year where they had put it out a week before they were supposed to. Seems like a spooky read and may be great for next summer or Halloween!
  • Windwitch by Susan Dennard: Susan Dennard is the master of the Internet. I loved her choose your own adventure story on Twitter! I got lost in all the different abilities in Truthwitch, but the story was intriguing and I think Windwitch is worth reading!

I know this won’t be all the books I read next year, and I know that I may not get to all of these, but I am going to try to prioritize these ones! I also am going to try to read more books on Swoon Reads, a cool site where you can vote on manuscripts to be published, so I will blog about those as well on here!

I hope everyone has a safe and happy New Years! Bye boggies!

Leave a comment